Food safety is important for individuals with celiac disease, gluten sensitivities, or sever wheat allergies. Friends and family members should know what foods contain gluten and how to prevent cross-contact with gluten-free foods and gluten containing foods.
Read the Ingredients Label:
Look for ingredients that contain gluten, such as:
- barley, rye, triticale;
- wheat (including durum, graham, semolina, kamut, spelt, emmer, faro);
- malt or malt flavoring (can be made from barley);
- malt vinegar (made from barley); and
- oats and oat products, which can cross-contact with gluten-containing grains.
If you see any of these names listed in the ingredients, then the food is not considered gluten-free.
Gluten can also be hidden in some food products you might least expect such as:
- Breading/coating mixes
- Processed lunch meats
- Cookies, crackers, and other snack foods
- French fries
- Salad dressing
- Seasoned rice mixes
- Frozen vegetables in sauce
You can often find out more about a product by visiting the manufacturer’s website and checking their list of ingredients. However, the best practice is “When in doubt, leave it out!”
Click here to download this infographic as a picture or a PDF!